Bufferapp vs. Hootsuite for Social Media Buffering

social-media-marketingWith the demise of Timely.is for social media buffering, I have been forced to choose between Hootsuite and Bufferapp for this service. I thought that I would take a few minutes and catalog the pros and cons of each and then pick which I think better and will continue to use moving forward.

Bufferapp

Buffer has two levels of service, the free service allows for 2 profiles and 10 updates in the queue for each profile. For $10 per month, you can have unlimited updates and up to 12 profiles. Being the cheapskate that I am, the paid service is out of the question so for the comparison I will comment on the free Bufferapp service.

Pros

  • The apps and extras allow you to work well with Buffer within your favorite browser.
  • Buffer allows the use of your own URL shortening service such as bit.ly
  • The user can schedule how many posts a day get published and at what times they go out.
  • The web interface is easy to use

Cons

  • Limited to 10 posts per profile in the free account
  • Limited to 2 profiles in the free account

Hootsuite

Pros

  • More than two profiles can be managed for free
  • There is no limit to the posts that can be scheduled.
  • Hootsuite emails a very helpful report showing the performance of your posts.
  • Hootsuite has a “hootlet” for the most common browsers that make posting updates very easy.

Cons

  • The user has no control over how many posts go out per day nor when they get sent. I suppose you could take the time to go back in and manually change the scheduled time, but this defeats the purpose of a scheduling service
  • The user is limited to the owl.ly URL shortening service.
  • The “hootlet” for Firefox is a little bit funky and puts the browser name in the Tweet. The hootlet works great in Chrome.

Conclusion

For me the deal breaker with Buffer continues to be the 10 post / 2 profile limits for the free account. Given that there are no such limits with Hootsuite, I have to go with Hootsuite. Sure, I’d like to have all of my URL links tracked in one place using bit.ly, but given the report that Hootsuite sends out, I can get this information with no effort on my part.

The ability to schedule the updates is a nice-to-have but not a deal breaker for me. So the obvious choice for me seems to be Hootsuite at this time.

Leave a Reply

