Why I ignore TrueTwit Validation Requests

I finally had it with getting direct messages on Twitter asking me to click on a link to validate with TrueTwit because I tried to follow someone. So I did a Google search and found this helpful blog post by Mary C. Long. Everyone who uses TrueTwit or is thinking about doing so should read this.

One of the best things I learned is that if I do not validate with TrueTwit, I am not prevented from following the person who DM’d me. I confirmed this by checking the TrueTwit FAQ.

So, beginning now, I’m ignoring all the validation requests and I no longer have to view the advertisement and type in some lame phrase. I was going to stop validating anyway, but now I am relieved to know that by ignoring TrueTwit exactly nothing happens other than I am spared from viewing an advertisement which serves only to make money for TrueTwit.

2 thoughts on “Why I ignore TrueTwit Validation Requests

  1. Reblogged this on shaynroby and commented:
    ShaynRoby’s Take: There is nothing wrong with an advertising campaign. However it is infuriating when it is learned that you have taken part in one just because someone tricked you.

  2. Pingback: Five Things You Should Never Do on Twitter by Kate Tilton

Leave a Reply

