A small political protest

Republican DemocratI know that this may sound overly cynical, but my casual following of the budget and debt crisis in America has me thinking that we no longer have a two party system. They seem to have merged into what is basically one party, so I call them all Republicrats.

It seems to me that it does not matter whether a politician has an R or a D after his name, he still cannot do simple math. Even a third grader knows that if you have five dollars, you do not have enough money to buy something for eight dollars. This simple analysis is apparently too difficult for anyone who works inside the Beltway in Washington, D. C. and they continue to spend more than they have.

In the private sector, people get thrown in jail for such behavior. But somehow, because they are Washington politicians, this irresponsibility is considered acceptable. It is enough to make your head explode.

Since I have absolutely no influence within the Beltway, I figure that my only course of protest is to change my party affiliation to “No Affiliation.” Neither of the major parties represents my wish for them to be fiscally responsible so I will no longer align myself with either of them. They abandoned me; I abandon them.

I know what you think, this is a futile act and will accomplish nothing. But if enough people decided that neither party represents their wishes and a significant portion of them would withdraw from those parties, perhaps party leadership will get it through their impenetrable skulls that we, the people who they claim to represent, are not happy with their work.

Yes, it may be futile to become an independent, but it feels so much better than doing nothing.

One thought on “A small political protest

  1. Being an independent also has political clout. No, I think an entirely different name is in order; one that will rub both parties the wrong way every time somebody utters it. Problem is, every time you bring up a new word that has strong meaning, both parties take the word and twist it into something entirely other than what it means. “N/A” may just be the way to go.

Leave a Reply

