How Apple is preventing me from getting Android Kitkat on my Galaxy Note 10.1

090814_1700_1.jpgCaveat: This is a rant.

I am the proud owner of a 32 GB Galaxy Note 10.1 tablet. I bought it around a year and a half ago when the latest version of Android was Jelly Bean 4.1.2. Three major updates to Android have come and gone and my Samsung tablet still has Jelly Bean 4.1.2.

I don’t know how much of an improvement Kitkat 4.4 would be over what I currently have. But I have to assume that with continued updates there are improvements from which I could benefit. But alas, I am still waiting.

There are many things that I don’t like about Apple, but one one thing that I do like is the way they do not orphan devices for several years after they are sold. When Apple releases OS updates, they are pushed to their older devices along with their new ones. Samsung obviously does not think that this is a priority for them.

Why is my tablet stuck at 4.1.2? When this question is raised on the Samsung support site, the tech support bots simply parrot back the following response:

Thank you for contacting Samsung.

While we appreciate your curiosity and interest in Samsung products, we cannot speculate on the release of updates to our products. We recommend you connect with us via our social media channels for future product & software announcements.

https://www.facebook.com/SamsungUSA

https://twitter.com/Samsungtweets

Thank you for being a Samsung customer!

The Samsung Online Support Team

The social media channels have no more information than the support site. They are nothing more than advertising channels for Samsung products. They are useless for the purpose of getting answers about OS updates.

If my tablet is not going to be updated, then perhaps Samsung should just come out and say so. If it is going to be updated, how hard would it be to give a target date?

But then again, if Samsung did follow Apple in the quality of their customer support, it is likely that Apple would file yet another suit against Samsung.

Therefore I can only assume that I have Apple to blame for being stuck on Jelly Bean 4.1.2.

Leave a Reply

